Ratatouille

Ya’ll remember the animated movie Ratatouille? Ever since I watched that for the first time I’ve wanted to make ratatouille. Not just any ratatouille, but that ratatouille. And apparently I’m not the only one. In my search for this recipe I came across many images and recipes on Google. I choose one from a blog called opensourcefood. Since this is someone else’s recipe I will not repost it here but have provided a link so that you may check out the recipe for yourself if you wish. But I did make it and here are the results!

Base Sauce

In my usual way I did tweak one thing about this recipe. The sauce wasn’t really all that…saucey, so I added about 5 oz. V8 juice and puree’d it.

I love this slicing gadget from Pampered Chef

Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Eggplant, and Tomato

The recipe calls for Japanese Eggplant. I am not sure what that even is? Out here on the island there are slim pickings, so I used a regular purple eggplant. Also, for the sauce it asked for shallots. No such luck in my grocery store. So a bunch of green onions did the trick.

pre-cooked

Cooked- Beautiful!

I served this with some leftover bulgur, and it was delicious! I ate a whole row 🙂 I did give the boys a few slices to taste but they weren’t impressed (what’s wrong with them? haha).  Cory will be so jealous that he missed this!

I felt so good eating this, and actually I found that I enjoyed it so much more than I thought I would. If you’re a veggie-lover then you will love this dish!

So this made me think of something else a little bit fun. I love to cook, I love to eat, and I love movies. What could be better than some of my favorite things combined? I decided to share a list of my favorite movies that feature cooking 🙂 Happy viewing and cooking to you!

Ratatouille

Julie & Julia

No Reservations

I know there are many others, but these are my top picks.

Stay tuned for post #2: The Day the Christmas Tree Died

 

Food on Friday

Leave a Reply

