December 21st ~ Make A Joyful Noise

On the twentyfirst day of December my true love gave to me,

sharks and dogbones and some caroling.

Yesterday I failed to recognize the first day of Hanukkah, but it has officialy begun. Growing up on the North side of Chicago, I was smack in the middle of a huge Jewish community that stretched literally all the way through the West and North suburbs. I’d had many Jewish friends (even boyfriends), and still do (friends, not boyfriends 🙂 ) Also, being a Christian rooted in Judaic beliefs, my hubby and I are known to observe Jewish traditions and holidays. The year Number Two was born we were actually hoping that he’d come during Rosh Hoshana, but alas, he came after the New Year, which was just as fine with us. So, Happy Hannukah to all my wonderful Jewish friends. May the Lord bless you and keep you during this season of remembrance.

Now, on to the post. Yesterday was quite a day. First of all it was The Pooper’s 3rd birthday. In years past we celebrated by giving Pooper a treat and a gift. Last year it was doggie-safe ice cream, which he didn’t much care for, and the year before was some gormet canned food that I upended onto a plate and it actually looked like a little cake. This year I made him a real doggie cake from an organic mix I found at a local wholistic pet store.

The box included a bone-shaped pan and I used a little cream cheese as frosting, dusted with carob powder.

Welcome to the Pooper Party

Another thing that happend was Hubby and Nunber One spent the day off-shore fishing with some friends, and One caught a 150 pound shark! I have a 20 second video of it but can’t figure out how to link it here 😦

So, in addition to my many titles, I am also the Children’s Ministry Coordinator at one of our churches. There is an awesome team of teachers and leaders who have stepped up to help make this ministry come alive within the past year, and I have to admit that I do very little because they all have the vision and the ability to make this ministry a success. One of the many events that they do for the children is to take them caroling, which is what we did last night. This event was so much fun, and my idea of the epitome of celebrating the Christmas season in good health, good spirits, and good fun. There is nothing more celebratory of the season than to go caroling. We choose a handful of houses to visit, all beloved elder members of our church who have become shut-ins and semi-shut-ins, and drove around in a big van together, singing wonderful Christmas songs and carols. We ended the evening with a pizza party at a local restaurant/arcade, giving each child a handful of quarters.

“Make a joyful noise, unto the Lord…”

~ Psalm 100:1  KJV

Make a Joyful Noise – David Crowder Band

Leave a Reply

