December 9th ~ Awesome Eats!

On the ninth day of December my true love gave to me,

some gingerbread that was super tasty!

 You’re working, cooking, spending time with family, fulfilling holiday obligations….you’ve got a lot on your plate. And speaking of plates, dinner plates are some of my favorites! Tastes and smells are huge triggers for memories of places and times, near and far. For me different smells (the number one culprit in evoking nostalgia in most people) like certain shampoos or perfumes, remind me of specific times of my life. For most people it’s food, and I have a few of those, too.

One of my favorite dishes to serve anytime of the year, but especially around Christmas is my near-famous Swiss Chicken.  I say that only because every time I’ve made it, for anyone ever, it’s been a big hit. No one doesn’t like this recipes, and it’s one that I’ve shared over the years time and time again. Well, I made it last night, and somehow it just felt and tasted like Christmas in my house. Now, I don’t know how this happened. I first tried this dish in July of 1989 (yowza!) when my mom made it. How it became my go-to holiday (and potluck) dish I’ll never know. The link above will take you to a previous link called Potluck In A Pinch, where I shared the recipe.

Swiss Chicken

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

6-8 slices swiss cheese (not processed)

One can Cream of Chicken Soup

1/2 soup can of water

1 stick butter, melted

2 boxes chicken flavored stuffing mix (like Stove Top)

*Lightly grease baking dish and cover bottom with chicken. Layer slices of cheese over the chicken.

Mix together the remaining ingredients and cover the chicken and cheese so that no chicken shows. Cover with foil and bake at 350* for 30-45 mins. Uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes until topping is browned and the kitchen smells heavenly 🙂 Let sit a few minutes, then serve.

**Measurements may not be exact to the previous post of this recipe. The ingredients are the same (cream of mushroom can be used in lieu of cream of chicken)- but as I have mentioned before, I cook a lot by memory and I just throw things together. This is exactly how I made it last night.

 

Leftovers are always yummy, and sometimes even better than the first night! The best way to reheat this is in the oven or toaster oven- slowly. But if you can’t wait then I understand 🙂 It’ll reheat fine in the microwave but it won’t have that crunchy top. This recipe is also a sinch to halve or double.

For dessert we had Gingerbread- yum! Few things truly say Christmas to me like gingerbread. I admit it’s not my own recipe. I didn’t even make it from scratch. But sometimes there are great mixes out there and this is one of them. If you’ve never tried Trader Joe’s gingerbread mix, it’s an absolute must.

I asked the boys if they wanted Cool Whip or peppermint ice cream with their gingerbread, and they said “Both!” (duh, mom) And….oh yeah….it was good.

Sometimes the only way to really enjoy the season in good health, good spirits, and good fun, is by engaging in these simple acts of enjoyment. Is that  redundant? Basically, stop planning the moment and just go have one. And don’t forget to remember the real reason for the season.

 “I am sending Him- who is my very heart- back to you.”

~ Philemon 1:12   NIV

Leave a Reply

