December 5th ~ Jump On In!

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me……

a potluck with church family.

Vacations are nice, but it is good to be home!

Christmas is in 3 weeks already – yikes! And as predicted, the frenzy of the holiday season started the minute I got home. Saturday night was all about unpacking and getting settled in. Sunday morning we were off to church and a  Children’s Ministry meeting, following by a quick trip to the grocery store (seeing as we had no milk or anything in the refrigerator!) Bought a rotisserie chicken in the deli for our lunch, and then a few hours of setting the house in order. I had to take down all Fall decorations and begin the  Christmas Transformation.  I’ve only barely begun really. Just a few decorations upstairs. This year we were asked to “Light Up The Village” so I threw some lights up outside the house as well. I still haven’t decided on the tree yet (artificial vs. real with great balsam smell but lots of needles everywhere) so I still have much to do.

Then it was off to the Civic Center for our church’s annual charge-wide Family Night, complete with covered dish and entertainment. When we got home it was time to shower and wind down with a Christmas movie. Getting the boys back on “school time” wasn’t as hair-pulling as I feared it would be (whew!) and we are back on track after a 9 day break.

And so begins the season, and our quest to enjoy every bit of it in good health, good spirits, and good fun.

There will come a time (very soon, I’m sure) when I will need a breather. But seeing as I’ve just had one 🙂 it’s time to jump in with both feet and do what needs to be done. Even though it is the Christmas Season, we still all have normal work schedules to attend to. As for me, I have a very busy next few days, starting with a doctor’s appointment for Number Two tomorrow (a 3 hour drive one way!) But this new evaluation is needed and will definitely help improve everyone’s quality of life. As I’ve implied before, ADHD never sleeps. It’s a constant motion type of disorder that always needs attention. With age and maturity, people with ADHD need to frequently adjust their medications, therapy, and behavior modifications. I’ve already had three IEP meetings at school this year, and probably will have at least 3 more.

Speaking of…on Wednesday I will be traveling to Norfolk, Virginia (another 3 hour drive) to attend an ADHD workshop. I cannot wait to see what I will learn, and I hope to bring some knowledge back for all you other ADHD mom’s out there. But in the meantime I’d like to share some highlight of yesterday’s Family Night with my church family, where we gathered together in fellowship and to remember the real reason for the season.

“Let us come before him with thanksgiving
   and extol him with music and song.”

~ Psalm 95:2

Keep a lookout for extra posts in the next few days telling all about our cruise to the Bahamas!

One thought on “December 5th ~ Jump On In!

Leave a Reply

