December 2 ~ Decorate!

On the second day of December my true love gave to me –                                       

  a beautiful Christmas tree!

Today is day 2 in my 25 Days of Christmas blog series, and I’m still aiming to savor the season in good health, good spirits, and good fun!

What’s the Christmas Season without a few baubles here and there? Or…. everywhere. Decorating always helps me get into the spirit. I love this time of year, and I’ll admit that I love all of it. Not just the spiritual part, not just the commercial part, but all of it. So at the first of the month I am taking down my Fall decorations, hauling boxes of decorations out of the attic, turning on some great Christmas music, lighting some yummy-smelling candles, and creating a Christmas haven of my own. Oh yeah, you know what I’m talking about. Throw some cinnamon sticks and orange peels in the oven (or in some water on your stove top) and let the smell simmer and waft throughout the house. WOW! Christmas is coming 🙂

BTW for a fabulous collection of Christmas carols I found this great CD in a Brookstone’s store years ago. It remains a favorite today. It’s called Christmas Chillout by Crystal Theory.

In my house I usually set up my Halloween/Thanksgiving decorations the first of October. After Halloween I’ll remove some of the more holiday-themed pieces and kept the rest of the Fall stuff up. As soon as Thanksgiving is over I will find a day to clear all of those decorations, store it all back neatly in their Rubbermade totes, put them back into the attic, and switch out my many, many totes of Christmas things. I may not have a tree yet, but there is plenty to do otherwise.

Now, I’m not eccentric. I’d decorate more if I could, but generally it all stays in the main living room, and a little bit upstairs in the family room. I don’t decorate every room of the house other than little knickknacks; some rooms don’t get any adornment at all. I have a friend who has one of those huge Christmas Village sets. It’s awesome! It takes her a long time to put it all up and arrange it just right. And it takes even longer to take it all down and pack everything away safely. Needless to say, it stays up longer than one month. She will put Christmas-y things in every room of her house. It makes each room very comfortable and you always feel the spirit wherever you are.

I want to enjoy my decorations. I just like the feeling of Christmas. Do you know what I mean? It’s like how you felt as a kid on your birthday (or even Christmas) when even if you’re doing normal everyday things there’s something about that day just feels different (because it is- duh). Well, Christmas still gives me that feeling but instead of it being just one day, it lasts the whole season. So with all that being said, I decorate early in the month because a lot of work goes into decorating a house and a tree, and darned if I’m not going to enjoy it longer than a week or two!

Enjoy this peaceful day of preparing your home and your heart before the mayhem sets in. And as always remember the reason for the season. Take time every day to be thankful.

“From them will come songs of thanksgiving and the sound of rejoicing. I will add to their numbers, and they will not be decreased; I will bring them honor, and they will not be disdained.”

~ Jeremiah 30:19   NIV

Leave a Reply

