So What’s Next?

Thank you so much for reading Number Two’s Journal entries this week. I admit that the idea came partly from being so busy that I couldn’t think of blog ideas, partly because I didn’t always have time to write new blogs every day, and partly because it seemed like a good idea at the time to reminisce over Thanksgiving Days past.

I do have blog drafts. A few anyway. Mostly they’re blogs that I’ve started but haven’t finished, but there are some that are waiting for the right timing to be posted. After tomorrow life will settle down a bit. I say that with hope, but we all know it isn’t entirely true with the holidays right around the corner. As I sit here and type this piece of “let me catch you up to speed”, I’ve got some Spinach & Artichoke Dip in the oven for a get-together I’m headed to in about 30 minutes. YUM!

I am also close to breathing a sigh of relief because tomorrow is a BIG day that has been in the works for weeks and weeks. As I might have mentioned, I am president of our elementary school’s PTA. This is a big job, but a very rewarding one. There are several times a year when we put together events from big to small that require a certain amount of planning time. Tomorrow’s event is HUGE and it includes the secondary school’s PTA as well. In all fairness, the other PTA did A LOT more work than I did (and I was happy to relinquish the bulk of the responsibility this year). This is going to be our first annual Community Fair, complete with rides, games, food court, etc etc etc. It’s going to be a super fun day- but what a relief when it’s finally over to those who put in all the hard hours of work leading up to such an event.

Next week is Thanksgiving, and the start of a new, albeit brief, adventure. We will go to my parent’s house for the weekend. But once Monday the 28th rolls around we are headed to Charleston, SC. to catch a Carnival cruise to the Bahamas! (Squeeeeeeeee!) I am really looking forward to this (in fact, I’ve been looking toward to this since February!) and promise to share pictures and highlights. FYI: Hubby and I will be celebrating our 15th anniversary in Nassau 🙂 How’s that for a celebration?

December is always a bit of a hectic month. I love Christmas, but I enjoy the whole month just as much. You know that saying sometimes it’s more fun to get ready for the party than to actually arrive? Well, that’s how the month of December is for me, only I enjoy the party just as much as I do the preparation. So keep a lookout for a Christmas-themed blog series for the entire month of December. I’m not sure if I will be able to post every day while on the cruise, but they are ready to go in any case, and as a last resort I’ll just have to double up on posts to get caught up once I’ve returned home. I am really looking forward to these Christmas posts and I hope you are, too.

Before I go I wanted to share some photos I took today. Sometimes you get handed tiny little smiles in the smallest places. These two definitely made me smile. I only had my cell phone with me in both cases, so the picture quality may not be that great.

This guy has to be in the duck family but I don’t actually know what it is. I’ve seen these before around the island. They tend to move slow, as if they don’t have a care in the world, and consequently, get hit by cars sometimes. What caught my eye about this one was that he was standing on the side of the road with his head in his feathers, just taking a nap. I was so surprised to see this (and curious if he was hurt) that Hubby swung our jeep around and went back so I could get a better view. I pulled out my cell phone as fast as I could but he’d already pulled his head out and (very slowly) started to waddle away.

I have a thing for lizards 🙂 I know, that’s sounds funny. When Number One was just 6 months old, Hubby and I bought our first house. It was a cute little 3 bedroom ranch with a roomy screened-in porch off the kitchen. We often had lizards visit us on the porch (and one even came in the house to look around) and so it became a fun thing for a just speaking and walking One (probably around a year and a half years old) to go to the porch and search for lizards. Only he couldn’t say “lizard”. It sounded more like (use your imagination here) “leeher”. So he’d go out to the porch and say, quite loudly, “Yoohoo, leeher!”

Enjoy your weekend and have a blessed day! Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

