It’s not Bambi- get over it

Post 2 for today 🙂

 I love exploring new recipes (thank you, family, for being so willing and such good sports). Most of the time they work out quite well, but once in a while we’ll get one that goes into the scrapper. I had one of those last week.

In the past two weeks I have made approximately 10 meals; 5 of them were new recipes I had gotten from various websites or cooking magazines:

  • Quesadilla Casserole (4 out 5 stars)
  • Fish Newburg (4 out of 5 stars) – we were given some fresh blue fish
  • Lazy Bolognese Lasagna (2 out 5 stars)
  • Chicken Tortilla Soup (5 stars!)
  • Dill Salmon Pasta (3 stars)

And 2 others that were just my pure genius ;p.

  • Greens and Beans Chicken Soup Soup’s On! (5 stars!)
  • Venison (5 stars!)

I have to explain the venison. It was so good. I didn’t take any pictures of it, because let’s face it, not everything photographs in a way that actually depicts its flavor. It was, overall, not the most colorful plate.

I’m not a deer eater by large. I did not grow up eating venison and once I married a Southern boy I still did not take to it much. Not to mention I had no idea how to cook it. Every once in a while we’d be given deer meat and I’d usually muddle through some sort of recipe, or actually I’d just give that job to Cory. The only times I ever enjoyed venison was once when someone gave me homemade deer jerky, and another time when a  friend pan-fried it up with homemade gravy. It was this second way I tried to make it last night.

 A few days ago Cory texts me asking if I want any deer meat. I say sure, not sure why seeing as I’ve never been very successful at preparing it, but we often are given fresh meat from our hunter friends, or fish that’s caught locally. It was a beautiful tenderloin, and I forgot all about that text until I found the meat in my refrigerator the next day. So this is what I did, and man, did it come out good!

First I soaked the tenderloin in some salt water for about 2 hours prior to cooking it. This was Cory’s suggestion. I never would have thought of this, so you more experienced venison-eaters may be better aware of this practice.

Then I sliced the tenderloin into medallions and pounded them slightly with a wooden meat hammer, just to tenderize the meat a bit. (Jadon helped; he thought it was super fun to hammer a piece of meat.) I sliced up 1/2 an onion and threw it into a bowl with the medallions. Then I tossed it all with salt, pepper and a few tablespoons of flour.

After I heated some oil in a pan I layered the coated medallions and onion and them brown on both sides. Then I added some beef broth, about 1/2 a cup or so and let it simmer. As the gravy thickened I added more broth until I had put in about 2 cups. I did this over a period of 30 to 45 minutes. It probably didn’t need to take that long but I was stalling because my rice was not cooperating.

I served the medallions over rice with yellow squash and zucchini rounds sautéed in a little butter, EVOO, and salt and pepper, and some green beans for the boys. The meat was flavorful and tender. All my boys ate it up entirely. I will not have any issue with preparing venison again.

What great venison recipes do you have to share 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

