Harvest Bread

In my search for healthy recipes I came across this. I was so excited to make this bread and try it. As usual with new recipes there’s a learning process, and while this came out really good, I’ll know exactly what to do differently next time to make it even better!

The recipe came from www.eatbetteramerica.com  If you have never looked at this site before, you should. It is full of great recipes, and it even shows you how to take a favorite and “healthify” it.

Harvest Bread

1 can (8 oz) crushed pineapple in juice, drained and juice reserved

1/4 C. fat-free cholesterol-free egg product or 1 egg

2 T. canola or soybean oil

1 1/2 C. all-purpose flour

3/4 C. packed brown sugar

1/2 C. raisins

1 t. baking powder

1/2 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. ground cinnamon

1 C. shredded carrots

1 C. walnuts

**Heat oven to 350*. Spray loaf pan. Discard 3 T. of the pineapple juice. Mix remaining juice, pineapple, egg product and oil in medium bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients until blended. Spread batter in pan. Bake 50 to 55 minutes or until toothpick comes out of center clean.Cool 10 minutes and then remove loaf from pan to wire rack. Cool completely, about 1 hour, before slicing. Makes 16 servings.

Nutritional Info: (1 serving) Calories 180, Cals from fat 60, Total Fat 7g, Cholesterol O mg, Sodium 16 mg, Total Carbs 27g, Fiber 1g, Sugars 15g, Protien 3g, Vit A 25%, Vit C 0%, Calcium 4%, Iron 6%.

How I made this:

I made this according to the directions but I found that there really was not an excess of pineapple juice. Because the pineapple is crushed it holds its juice, and so less than 3 T. came out. I did not squeeze the pineapple juice out but instead left what was in the can. The 2 T or whatever that came out, I did discard it, but the next time I make this bread I will add it all. There is no way it will hurt the bread, and it will probably make it better.

I completely forgot the carrots, and am disappointed because I know that would have been a fantastic addition. I will definitely remember them next time. I also used EVOO because I don’t use any other oils when I cook, and I often use a 1/2 &1/2 mixture of unbleached all-purpose flour and whole wheat flour, but this time it was only unbleached flour. Most recipes that call for cinnamon never ask for enough, and so I put in at least 1 full teaspoon.

Anyone thinking “Morning Glory” right now?

This is a very healthy version of a quick bread, packed with flavorful fruit, vegetables and nuts, and can easily be made into muffins. Breakfast eaters tend to have better overall diets than those who skip morning meals, and so this is a particularly good breakfast if you’re in a hurry or just want something different from the same old cereal or eggs and toast.

Personally, I’ll be eating this any time of day. Just spread on a little cream cheese…..yum!

3 thoughts on “Harvest Bread

Leave a Reply

