Potato Skins

Recently I was in Chicago for my annual visit, where my BFF and I were having dinner at one of our favorite swanky restaurants (if you’ve never been to Firkin I highly recommend it http://firkinoflibertyville.com/), when her husband text and asked for some potato skins. Firkin didn’t have any so after dinner we made our way across the street to an Irish Pub to order the skins and have a drink while we waited.

They looked so yummy. They smelled so good!

I don’t eat pork. My family stopped eating all pork products about 7 or 8 years ago when we first went “life-changing” über organic-crazy, health-nut. While I’ve figured out that not everything has to be organic, we do still maintain much of what helped us become so successful in achieving optimum health. One of the those changes we made was to stop eating pork of any kind. I won’t go into the why’s of it, but if you’re interested, you can contact me and I can tell you the biblical and health reasons why.

Not eating pork hasn’t been a problem for the most part, except for the occasional BBQ gathering where I learned early on to just provide my own hotdogs for my family, including wheat buns that no one else ever seems to think of. I also hate white bread. Just eating it makes me think of a big dough ball going down……. Ok so I occasionally do eat white bread. Sometimes you just can’t help it when there’s a lovely smelling and tasting ciabatta roll right there…… Anywho, being in the South it is common practice to have a pig pickin’ at your church celebration or wedding reception. At these times it’s best to just graze the veggie trays.

But there have been things I’ve gone completely without. Like Potato skins. And then it hit me….why not make my own with turkey bacon! Can you believe that in 8 years this never occurred to me? I still can’t.

To make these I just threw ingredients together, it wasn’t very difficult. I used 5 small brown potatoes and baked them until done. Then I cut them crosswise in half and scooped out about half of the pulp. I heated some EVOO and briefly fried both sides for that restaurant taste (but this part is not necessary and I will not likely do it every time). I cooked 4 sliced of turkey bacon, crumbled them up and divided them between the 10 potato halves. I cut up one stem from a green onion for a little bit of color and extra flavor. And then I loaded and layered shredded sharp cheddar, bacon, chives, and more cheese, and then popped it back into the oven until the cheese was melted. Add a dollop of sour cream and enjoy!

One thought on “Potato Skins

Leave a Reply

