I love you, vacuum cleaner dummy

One of our favorite things to do in our house is play “The Quote Game”. We do this often when gathered together around the dinner table, usually on nights when Hubby is out of town on business and it’s just me and the boys. The purpose of the game is to say a funny quote from any movie that we are all familiar with, and the first one to guess it correctly gets the next turn. We don’t keep score and when we can’t think of a quote we pass it to someone else.

We are big movie fans in this family. About 8 years ago, Hubby and I “turned off” the TV. This meant we weren’t going to pay for cable or satellite anymore. These days picking up local stations without some super-duper rabbit ears on the roof is near impossible, and here on the island it literally is impossible. But we realized that everything on TV was just so junky that our children couldn’t possibly benefit from it anyway. Since then it’s been all DVD’s, videos, and in the last two years, Netflix. We haven’t missed it at all (except for PBS, I really do miss PBS!) And I have to admit that last year I discovered Hulu on the internet and I do enjoy watching Chopped, Super Nanny, and Glee from time to time.

So we watch a lot of movies, and consequently we own a lot of movies. There are so many great family movies out there. Disney and Pixar alone have put out many wonderful films that our whole family loves to watch. So the quote game idea was born and ever since we’ve been having a blast. I even started writing them into a notebook so I’d always have a great quote ready. It’s funny how now when we watch a new family movie, as soon as a line makes us laugh I think to myself that’s a going on the list of quotes!

And because Halloween is next week I’ll share our list of favorite family movies to watch:

  • Monster House
  • Coraline
  • The Corpse Bride
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Hocus Pocus
  • E.T.
  • Halloween Town

All right, vacuum cleaner dummy, I’m setting you down on the lawn. Don’t be scared, that’s not how you were trained. I love you, vacuum cleaner dummy.” ~ Monster House

Leave a Reply

