Every Day is a Good Day

For he who would love life and see good days, let him refrain his tongue from evil, and his lips from speaking deceit.” ~ 1 Peter 3:10

I love every day of the week. There is something good to be found in each day. More often than not they are very simple things. These simple things accumulate into a life. They are what makes life worth living.

I love Sundays. Sundays are unique from every other day of the week, and should be, not just for me but for anyone who loves the Lord. Sundays are the day for church and an open, public sharing of faith and worship in His house. There is great community in this day. I also love Sundays because I always cook a large, traditional meal for my family to share after church. Often times I do not cook again this day and we will graze on leftovers later in the evening when we feel hungry again. This is the only day of the week that we as a family will pray before and after our meal. This is also our lazy family day. Most Sundays we will gather together in front of the TV and have a “movie marathon”. This is when we choose a movie that has at least one sequel and watch all day. Other times we play board games or do other activities together as a family.

I love Mondays. Mondays may not be great for the kids who have to get up early and go to school, or for those adults who have to get back to the daily grind of a 9 to 5. But for me, as a home-keeper, they are lovely, quiet, de-compressing days. I like getting back into the grind of domestic responsibilities. Time to fold that clean laundry that’s been sitting in the basket for a few days. Clean the kitchen and get the house organized for the coming week. Enjoy that first quiet cup of coffee and think about what needs to be done during the week. Do my Pilates routine that I always ignore over the weekend. Some people might think I’m crazy, but I like cleaning my house and keeping everything tidy and organized.

I love Tuesdays. Lately Tuesdays have become my shopping days, although I try only to hit the grocery store every two weeks. I love to shop, so even grocery shopping is fun to me. I also enjoy seeing how much I can buy for as little as possible. On the Tuesdays I don’t shop, I am still working on my next grocery list, and working  around the house on chores.

I love Wednesdays. We’re halfway through the week and feeling a little tired. I can’t do everything my house requires me to do in one day, so I am finishing up my domestic chores. But what makes Wednesdays good is that the homework week is almost over! It’s also Zumba night and if I’m extra lucky I will remember to go. As a bonus it’ll also be Bingo night (if I have an extra $20).

I love Thursdays. I’ve always been a fan of the underdog, and Thursdays fits that bill. Thursdays are great because the weekend is almost here and I know that it’s the last night of the week my youngest son has homework. Homework time is a struggle, and from talking to many other moms, it seems to be everywhere else, too. Gone are the nights (well, at least for a few nights) of tears and frustration. Okay, so not all nights include tears (at least not anymore). Thank God for that. Truth is, Jadon struggles with math concepts and the tediousness of grammar, but overall he’s doing quite well for someone with ADHD. And I love any day of the week just because of that!

I love Fridays. I think it’s obvious why. Funny how I enjoy Mondays so much just for what they are and then look forward to Fridays as well. Also, it’s pizza night! As much as I enjoy cooking, by Friday I am ready for a break. It’s also date night, which means I can prepare pizza for the kids, get a new release from the video store or Netflix, and then go out to dinner for some special alone time with my hubby, or a girls night.

I love Saturdays. The first (actually the only) day of sleeping in. The first day in 5 days that I don’t have to get up at 6:30 am. Sleeping in until 8 is heavenly. Saturday is the only day that from week to week is not consistent.  Lately we’ve been busy on Saturdays, from weddings to funerals, Emmaus or other community gatherings, or getting ready for an upcoming church bazaar. It’s usually a play day for Jadon with his BFF, and a work day for Brandon at the local grocery store.

There is something to be thankful for and enjoy about every day. Find what little blessings you have and every day will be a good day!

Leave a Reply

