Crock Pot Meatloaf & Gravy

It’s comfort food time as you can tell by my recent posts. In addition to all the new and exciting recipes I will be attempting this month, there is of course the traditional ones as well (cookies, pies, etc). But in an effort to not completely overwhelm myself I had to resort to a staple or two during the week.

This meatloaf, however, is a bit new and you’ll see why in a minute. First of all, you can really use any meatloaf recipe, though I will share this one with you today. It’s the GRAVY that makes this an absolute winner, and I think you’ll agree :)

209

Crock Pot Meatloaf and Gravy

1 pound ground meat (I used Turkey)

1 package onion soup mix

1 large egg

1 -2 cups whole wheat couscous*, cooked

2 slices whole wheat bread, cut into small cubes

2/3 cup milk

1 T Worcestershire sauce

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp sage

1/2 tsp ground mustard

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 can cream of mushroom soup**

2/3 cup heavy cream

In a large bowl combine all the ingredients (*I added this for some great texture and added nutrients) except for the cream soup and the heavy cream (**Of course, I used my dry cream soup mix alternative. I didn’t add any mushrooms but you certainly can.) Use your hands to combine everything really well.

Use cooking spray to coat the inside of the crock pot. Spoon the meatloaf into the crock pot, then using a rubber spatula, gently form into a round loaf, pulling the meat slightly away from the sides of the crock pot. It doesn’t have to be perfect- just formed as best as you can into a round, flat-topped loaf.

Whisk the heavy cream into the cream soup until blended well and then pour over the meatloaf. Place lid on top of crock pot and set on low for 8 hours. It’ll be perfect! Serve with mashed potatoes.

208

FYI: You might want to make 2 cans of gravy…..jusayin’.

6 thoughts on “Crock Pot Meatloaf & Gravy

  1. This sound wonderful! I would have to substitute the Cream of Mushroom with Cream of Celery or Onion and couscous would need to change to crackers – or Mr. Picky Eater wouldn’t eat it, but I will try this soon because I love anything in the crockpot, we haven’t had meatloaf in a while, and I’m make a ton of Christmas candy/treats this weekend and don’t have time to cook! I am going to pin this and make it!

    • The gravy is soooo good! In fact I didn’t use a cream of mushroom either- I used my dry cream mix alternative and added a little beef boullion and it came out wonderful- smelling amazing and everything. So I am sure you could use any cream soup and it would be fine. The couscous was just a blip :) I’d substitute about 1 cup of panko or someother bread filler. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

