Salsa Chicken

This is another one of those quick weeknight meals that tastes great and is extremely low in fat. Everyone enjoys this dish in this house, and the best way to serve it is with some green veggies and couscous. Sprinkle a little parmesan and you’ve got a great meal. The best thing is – it’s only 2 ingredients!

One night in my kitchen years ago I wondered, “Hmm, what would happen if I threw some salsa in the pan over this chicken?” I mean, how could it go wrong? I am sure I am not the first person to think of this so I won’t claim this as my own conception, though I do make it this way every time. I hope you enjoy it. This serves 4, so increasing the portions shouldn’t be very difficult.

Salsa Chicken

4 skinless, boneless breasts

12 oz. Salsa (type and heat to your preference)

*You may need to add a bit of water. I do this to get all the salsa out of the jar and also to loosen up the salsa in the pan. After a bit of simmering it tends to thicken up some.

Melt 1 t. butter OR use cooking spray in skillet over medium-high heat. Brown both sides of the chicken, about 4 minutes each. Add salsa and lower heat to simmer. Cover and stir chicken around once or twice. Add water when necessary, starting with 1/8 cup.

Chicken will be moist and flavorful. Serve over couscous and ladle extra salsa over both.

2 thoughts on “Salsa Chicken

Leave a Reply

