Beef & Barley Soup

Oh my goodness I love soup. And I love this season when soup abounds. Any night of the week you can throw things into a pot for a quick, easy, hearty, and delicious meal.

I actually know people who have never made soup before. Can you believe it? When it’s the simplest thing on earth to do?? Now, for sure I have a few recipes that are a bit involved, but for the most part I just look at what is in my freezer and refrigerator and begin from there. Usually I get a pretty darn good soup.

Beef & Barley Soup

1 lb. ground beef, browned and *drained

1/4 cup diced onion

1 T garlic powder, divided

1/2 cup frozen lima beans

1/2 cup frozen corn

1 (15 oz) can of diced tomatoes with juices

1/2 cup quick barley

1 (32 oz) carton chicken or beef broth

1/2 tsp thyme

salt & pepper

1. Brown ground meat with 1/2 T of the garlic powder. You can use ground turkey or chicken, but the beef gives off so much flavor. *Since I rarely use ground beef I completely forgot to drain the fat before I threw it all into the crock pot.  I have to admit it lent the soup some great extra flavor but most people don’t want the heartburn that goes along with it. Here’s a tip: I’m sure you already knew that adding a bit of baking soda will cut the acidity in tomato sauce, but did you know it also cuts the grease from meat drippings?? I kid you not!

2. Throw all the ingredients, except for the barley,  into a crock pot and set on low for several hours. Add the barley about an hour or so before meal time. It’s not a science. It won’t get yucky the way pasta does. Salt and pepper to taste.

3. Add any other seasonings or veggies you would like.

Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

