Beef and Cheese Foldovers

This was an easy, hearty meal that felt a bit like deep-dish pizza with a cheeseburger taste. I served it with salad and my boys ate several slices each, so it was a good thing I doubled the recipe :) *This would also be an excellent way to use up leftover meat and/or veggies. I could really see this being a very versatile dish with many different options. It is also a very cost-effective meal. Always a winner in my book.

I found this recipe in the Fall 2010 issue of Kraft Food & Family magazine. I love this food mag. It comes out on a quarterly basis and the price reflects it, which is a very good deal for the number of meals and dessert ideas I can find in there. These past two years I’ve even been able to send a subscription to a friend at no extra cost, a perk of membership, and she loves it. If you have not looked into this little food magazine, I recommend it. I do have a disclaimer, however, that I tweak many of the recipes to make them a bit healthier.

Beef & Cheese Foldovers

What You Need:

1 lb. ground beef (I used ground turkey)

1 onion, chopped

1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup ketchup

2 T. A1 Steak Sauce

1/2 cup hot water

2 cups all-purpose baking mix (I used Bisquick)

1 cup Mexican style shredded cheese

HEAT oven to 375*F.

BROWN meat with onions in large skillet; drain. Stir in corn, ketchup and steak sauce; set aside.

ADD water to baking mix; stir until mixture forms dough. SHape into ball. Place on lightly floured surface; knead 5 times or until smooth and no longer sticky. Roll into 12-inch circle; transfer to baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.

SPOON meat mixture onto center of dough; spread to within 2 inches of edge. Fold edge of dough over meat, leaving center uncovered.

BAKE 20 mins. Tip filling with cheese; bake 5 mins. or until melted.

PREP 20 mins. TOTAL 45 mins. MAKES 6 servings

ENJOY!

 

Don’t forget to vote :) Thank you!

 

Just Click To Send A Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

