Chicken Tarragon

Awhile back I did a post called Soup’s On! I made a soup I named Greens & Beans Chicken Soup, and mentioned that I used leftover chicken and sauce from a dish I make called Chicken Tarragon. I decided to make this for dinner last night even though we had it about 3 or 4 weeks ago. But since we are headed out-of-town tomorrow I needed to use up what ingredients I had, and everyone in this house loves this dish anytime. So, as promised, here is the recipe.
 
 
 
Chicken Tarragon
3 or 4 T. butter, melted in pan and foam allowed to subside (do not brown)
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts browned on each side (about 3 or 4 mins. each)
Remove chicken from pan and discard butter
Deglaze pan with 2 c. chicken broth
Whisk in 1 pt. 1/2 & 1/2 (or heavy cream)
Add in tarragon to taste (this means about 2 T. to me)
Bring to boil then lower heat to simmer
Replace chicken, cover and let cook through, turning meat occasionally
 
** I usually make a small roux and add to thicken the sauce a little bit (about 1/3 C. butter and 1 1/2 T. flour)
 
 
 
 
 
 
This is great with mashed potatoes, but it is also excellent with bulgur. For a little bit healthier meal, if you have never tried bulgur, do so with this first! It’s super yummy. And it helps out-weigh the fattening cream in the sauce :) There are many ways to make bulgur, but I prefer it this way. This recipe also works with quinoa.
 
 
Bulgur
1 cup bulgur
1 T. butter
2 cups chicken broth
small onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, chopped
1/4 cup sliced almonds
salt & pepper to taste
 
~ Measurements are tricky for me because I cook a lot by eye, so you may end up pouring out some excess broth, or you might not. Basically what I do is melt the butter over medium-high heat and then throw in the bulgur, allowing it to brown (similar to what you do with Rice A Roni). It doesn’t take long and you can gauge by the smell when it’s been toasted enough. Then add the onion, garlic, and almonds along with the broth. Let boil briefly. Stir, cover, and simmer for 10 or 15 minutes. The bulgur absorbs the broth quickly.
 
I hope you enjoy this dish as much as we do!
 
Don’t forget dessert! Check out this older post for my Apple Crispe recipe.  I had some extra apples, and since we’re trying to use up our food before we go on vacation, I made another Apple Crispe ;)
 

Pre-baked with butter pats to make it super yummy!

 
 

 

 

 

I can’t seem to get the link insert to work, so I’ll have to do it the old fashioned way :) http://thehomeheart.wordpress.com/2011/10/19/comfort-food/

 

 

Leave a Reply

